PCB Logo

PCB announces Umpires for Independence Cup

Lahore September 8, 2017: The Pakistan Cricket Board today announced umpire appointments for next week’s Independence Cup, which will be played between Pakistan and the World XI in Lahore.

Aleem Dar of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Ahsan Raza of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires will officiate in the series opener at the Gaddafi Stadium on 12 September. Shozab Raza, also from the international panel, will be the TV umpire.

The second match of the series, to be played on 13 September, will be umpired by Ahmed Shahab and Shozab Raza, with Ahsan Raza as the TV umpire. The series finale will be umpired by Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza, with Ahmed Shahab as the TV umpire.

The ICC has already appointed Sir Richie Richardson as match referee for the series, while the PCB has appointed on-field umpires for the T20Is.

Aleem Dar, who was the ICC Umpire of the Year from 2009-2011, has been appointed only for the opening match as he is scheduled to attend the ICC Elite Match Officials workshop in Dubai from 13-15 September. In this year’s annual workshop at the ICC Headquarters, the match officials will discuss, among other matters, the new playing conditions, which will come into effect from 28 September.

The following are the umpire and match referee appointments for the Independence Cup:

12 Sep: 1st T20I (19h00) – Aleem Dar and Ahsan Raza (on-field); Shozab Raza (third umpire); Ahmed Shahab (fourth umpire). Sir Richie Richardson (match referee)

13 Sep – 2nd T20I (19h00) – Ahmed Shahab and Shozab Raza (on-field); Ahsan Raza (third umpire); Asif Yaqoob (fourth umpire). Sir Richie Richardson (match referee)

15 Sep – 3rd T20I (19h00) – Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza (on-field); Ahmed Shahab (third umpire); Khalid Mahmood Snr (fourth umpire). Sir Richie Richardson (match referee)