PCB Logo

PCB Media Release 30 probable's for World Cup 2011

Lahore January 4, 2011: The National Selection Committee met today at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore to finalize the 30 probable’s for World Cup 2011. After deliberations, the Committee finalized the following names:
Opening Batsmen

1.   Muhammad Hafeez

2.   Ahmed Shahzad

3.   Taufique Umer

4.   Nasir Jamshed

Middle Order Batsmen

5.   Mohammad Yousuf

6.   Younis Khan

7.   Misbah ul Haq

8.   Umar Akmal

9.   Azhar Ali

10.   Asad Shafiq

11.  Naveed Yasin

Wicket Keepers

12.   Kamran Akmal

13.   Sarfraz Ahmed

14.   Salman Ahmed

All Rounder’s

15.   Shahid Afridi

16.   Abdul Razzaq

17.   Yasir Arafat

18.   Rana Naveed

Spin Bowlers

19.   Abdul Rehman

20.   Saeed Ajmal

21.   Yasir Shah

22.   Zulfiqar Babar


23.   Shoaib Akhtar

24.   Umar Gul

25.   Wahab Riaz

26.   Sohail Tanveer

27.   Tanvir Ahmed

28.   Junaid  Khan

29.   Aizaz Cheema

 Asad Ali

Commenting on the occasion Chairman National Selection Committee, Mr. Mohsin Khan said “We are satisfied that we have selected the best squad from amongst the available players. The Selection Committee met on multiple occasions and only then decided on the names. I request the whole nation to back the selected players who need all the encouragement to win the World Cup”.
Commenting on the media reports regarding ‘clearance’ of certain players, Chairman PCB said “There is a lot of speculation in the media regarding clearance or otherwise of players by Integrity Committee of PCB. The Integrity Committee has given its views on some players to the Selection Committee which has taken into consideration that input and has selected the 30 players for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.”
The squad for the New Zealand ODI series will be announced next week.