PCB Logo

Ali Zaryab and Zain Abbas score maiden double centuries on day one of fourth round of Quaid-e-Azam Trophy

Lahore, 28 September 2023: Lahore Whites’ Ali Zaryab and Multan’s Zain Abbas struck their maiden double centuries today on the first day of the fourth round matches of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24. Rawalpindi’s left-arm fast-bowler Mohammad Faizan bagged a five-wicket haul against Faisalabad on his first-class debut.

Faisalabad v Rawalpindi, Pindi Cricket Stadium

After being put into bat, Faisalabad batters were unable to face a fiery spell from left-arm pacer Mohammad Faizan, who in his maiden first-class match took five wickets for 35 and helped his side bowl out Faisalabad for 112 in 39.3 overs.

Ali Waqas was the only notable batter for Faisalabad, scoring 26.

In reply, Rawalpindi were 77 for four in 32.3 overs when stumps were drawn. Opening batter Zeeshan Malik top-scored for his side, returning undefeated on 60 off 96 balls, hitting nine fours.

For Faisalabad, Test fast bowler Faheem Ashraf bagged two wickets for seven runs in seven overs.

FATA v Multan at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

After being put into bat, Multan completely dominated the first day’s proceedings courtesy an unbeaten double century by Zain Abbas. The left-handed opening batter scored 219 off 268 balls, smashing 30 fours and one six. He knitted an unbroken 312-run partnership for the third wicket with Mohammad Basit, who remained not out on 142 off 166 balls, laced with 23 fours and two sixes.

At stumps, Multan were 405 for two in 86.1 overs.

Karachi Whites v Lahore Whites at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

A 153-run first-wicket partnership between Ali Zaryab and Ahmed Shehzad helped Lahore Whites post 345 for three in 87 overs against Karachi Whites.

After being asked to bat first, left-handed batter Ali Zaryab scored his maiden first-class double century. He returned unbeaten on 204 off 289 balls, studded with 25 fours and one six. Test cricketer Ahmed scored 65, which included nine boundaries, before he was bowled by Test left-arm spinner Noman Ali.

Noman took two wickets for 104 runs from 30 overs.

Lahore Blues v Peshawar at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad

Lahore Blues captain Imran Butt’s decision to bat first backfired as Lahore lost four wickets for 58 runs. At that stage of the match, Hussain Talat was joined by wicketkeeper-batter Junaid Ali and the pair added 138 runs for the fifth wicket. Hussain top-scored for his side with a 167-ball 87, which included 12 fours.

Junaid scored 82 off 101 balls, hitting 14 fours and one six. Kashif Bhatti, coming to bat at number eight, scored 69 off 91 balls, smashing five fours and four sixes before Lahore Blues were dismissed for 334 in 85.1 overs.

For Peshawar, Mohammad Ilyas and Niaz Khan bagged three wickets apiece. Sajid Khan grabbed two wickets for 91 runs from 29 overs.

Scores in brief:

Rawalpindi won the toss and elected to bowl against Faisalabad at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Faisalabad 112 all out, 39.3 overs (Ali Waqas 26; Mohammad Faizan 5-35, Mohammad Awais 3-29)

Rawalpindi 77-4, 32.3 overs (Zeeshan Malik 60 not out; Faheem Ashraf 2-7)

FATA won the toss and elected to bowl against Multan at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Multan 405-2, 86.1 overs (Zain Abbas 219 not out, Mohammad Basit 142 not out)

Karachi Whites won the toss and elected to bowl against Lahore Whites at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Lahore Whites 345-3, 87 overs (Ali Zaryab 204 not out, Ahmed Shehzad 65; Noman Ali 2-104)

Lahore Blues won the toss and elected to bat against Peshawar at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad

Lahore Blues 334 all out, 85.1 overs (Hussain Talat 87, Junaid Ali 82, Kashif Bhatti 69; Niaz Khan 3-73, Mohammad Ilyas 3-81, Sajid Khan 2-91)