PCB Logo

August, 18 notified as Chairman PCB's election date

Aug. 18 notified as Chairman PCB's election date; Board of Governors (electoral college) also announced

Justice Sair Ali Shah announces PCB Chairman’s election in only five days

LAHORE—August 9, 2014: Former Judge of Supreme Court Justice (Retired) Muhammad Sair Ali Shah, presently Acting Chairman and Election Commissioner Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), has notified August 18 as the date for the election of the PCB Chairman. The elected chairman shall take over after his post-election notification. The Board of Governors (electoral college) for the Chairman's election has also been named.

Announcing the detailed schedule, the Acting Chairman Justice (Retd) Muhammad Sair Ali Shah has lived up to his promise made at the time of assuming office of holding the Chairman’s election “within a matter of days and not weeks”.

Completing the process within five days, Justice Sair Ali has notified: the nomination papers along with documents can be filed by August 15, 2014 on or before 05:00 p.m.   

The Scrutiny and/or Withdrawal of Nomination Papers and issuance of Final List of candidates shall take place on the subsequent day,Aug. 16, while the Special Meeting for Election of Chairman PCB followed by Declaration of Result and Issuance of Notification of Chairman PCB as well as assumption of charge of office by the elected Chairman shall take place on Aug. 18, 2014 at 03:00 p.m.

The PCB Board of Governors (BoG) under Paragraph 10 of the PCB Constitution 2014, other than the chairman, consists of the following 11 members: Islamabad Region represented by Mr. Shakil Ahmad Sheikh; Peshawar Region represented by Mr. Gul Zada; Karachi Region, Sub judice, as such will be nominated subject to judgment/order of the Honourable Sindh High Court, Karachi; Rawalpindi Region, No nomination can be made in absence of duly elected representatives; National Bank of Pakistan represented by Mr. Iqbal Qasim; Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited represented by Mr. Amjad Latif;  United Bank Limited represented by Mr. Mansoor Masood Khan; Pakistan Water And Power Development Authority (WAPDA) represented by Mr. Yousaf Naseem Khokhar; the two nominees of the Patron (Prime Minister of Pakistan) Mr. Najam Sethi and Ambassador Shaharyar M. Khan while the Federal Secretary, Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination, Government of Pakistan or any officer nominated by him shall be an ex-officio non-voting member.