PCB Logo

Azan Tariq, Israr Hussain and Mohammad Haider register four-wicket hauls in round three of Hanif Mohammad Cup

Faisalabad, 5 November 2023: The third round of Hanif Mohammad Cup 2023-24 took place today at four venues across Faisalabad, Rahim Yar Khan and Multan. In Group A, Abbottabad won a close encounter against Bahawalpur, getting over the line with just a wicket to spare. DM Jamali suffered a six-wicket defeat against Karachi Blues, who chased the target in 35 overs. In Group B, AJK defeated Sialkot by 63 runs and Islamabad secured a victory by six wickets over Quetta.

Group A

Abbottabad v Bahawalpur at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad:

Abbottabad clinched a one-wicket victory against Bahawalpur in a final-ball finish at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad. Mohammad Arif (66, 78b, 6x4s, 2x6s), Ahmed Khan (40 not out, 51b, 2x4s) and Khayam Khan (40, 38b, 5x4s, 1x6) were the prominent batters for the side.

Mohammad Asif Ali returned with three wickets as the Bahawalpur bowling attack significantly challenged the Abbottabad batting line-up.

Earlier, Bahawalpur scored 237-9 in 45 overs on the back of Mohammad Waseem Bhatti (100, 121b, 9x4s, 2x6s) and Faizan Zafar (76, 100b, 8x4s, 1x6). Israr Hussain registered a four-wicket haul while Mansoor Ali had three wickets to his name.

Karachi Blues v DM Jamali at Bohranwali Ground, Faisalabad:

The decision to field first worked in Karachi Blues’ favor as DM Jamali were dismissed for 166 in 44.2 overs. Basit Ali (52, 87b, 6x4s, 1x6) and Mohammad Shahid (40, 50b, 1x6) were the noteworthy performers with the bat as the team scraped to a small total in the first innings.

Afnan Khan got three wickets while Mohammad Taha grabbed two to his name.

In turn, Karachi Blues scored 170-4 in 35 overs, winning the match by six wickets. Kashif Ali (82, 96b, 10x4s, 3x6s) ensured that the game remained squarely in Karachi’s control. He was helped by Taha who remained unbeaten at 44 from 48, including six fours and a maximum.

Nasir Khan claimed two wickets for DM Jamali.

Group B

AJK v Sialkot at Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex, Rahim Yar Khan:

Sialkot’s decision to field first backfired as the side was dismissed for 191 in 35 overs while chasing the target of 255 set by AJK. Batting first, AJK scored 254-8 in 45 overs on the back of a impressive half-century by Naveed Malik (55, 65b, 6x4s, 1x6). His efforts were supported by Raja Mohammad Shahzad (43, 20b, 2x4s, 4x6s), allowing AJK to put up a solid total.

Bilal Asif claimed three wickets while Asif Ali Jnr and Shoaib Akhtar had two each.

In turn, Sialkot crumbled for just 191 in 35 overs. Salman Khan (52, 47b, 4x4s, 2x6s) stitched a fighting half-century which went in vain. Asad Ali Jnr (26, 27b, 4x4s) and Ayaz Tasawwar (26, 52b, 1x4) also chipped in with the bat, however, it proved insufficient as the side was bowled out 63 runs short of the target.

Mohammad Haider was the pick of the bowlers with a four-fer, while Aqib Liaqat and Raja Mohammad Shahzad bagged two wickets each.

Islamabad v Quetta at Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan:

Quetta scored 208-6 in the allotted 45 overs after being put to bat first by Islamabad. Shahbaz Khan (70, 101b, 5x4s) had an impressive outing with the bat and was the highest scorer of the match. His efforts were helped by Salahuddin who hit 48 from 47, including four boundaries and a six.

Azan Tariq was the most valuable bowler for Islamabad, as he accounted for four wickets.

In turn, Islamabad got to 209 in just 34.2 overs with six wickets remaining. Hassan Nawaz (54, 90b, 3x4s, 1x6) and Rohail Nazir (40, 46b, 1x4, 2x6s) crafted the chase for their team, taking Islamabad over the line without any hindrance.

Najeebullah Jnr got two wickets for Quetta.


Scores in brief:

Group A

Abbottabad beat Bahawalpur by one wicket

Bahawalpur 237-9, 45 overs (Mohammad Waseem Bhatti 100, Faizan Zafar 76; Israr Hussain 4-34, Mansoor Ali 3-44)

Abbottabad 238-9, 45 overs (Mohammad Arif 66, Ahmed Khan 40 not out, Khayam Khan 40; Mohammad Asif Ali 3-41)

Karachi Blues beat DM Jamali by six wickets

DM Jamali 166 all out, 44.2 overs (Basit Ali 52, Mohammad Shahid 40; Afnan Khan 3-39, Mohammad Taha 2-35)

Karachi Blues 170-4, 35 overs (Kashif Ali 82, Mohammad Taha 44 not out; Nasir Khan 2-22)

Group B

AJK beat Sialkot by 63 runs

AJK 254-8, 45 overs (Naveed Malik 55, Raja Mohammad Shahzad 43; Bilal Asif 3-28, Asad Ali Jnr 2-41, Shoaib Akhtar 2-47)

Sialkot 191 all out, 35 overs (Salman Khan 52, Asad Ali Jnr 26, Ayaz Tasawwar 26; Mohammad Haider 4-9, Raja Mohammad Shahzad 2-34, Aqib Liaqat 2-56)

Islamabad beat Quetta by six wickets

Quetta 208-6, 45 overs (Shahbaz Khan 70 not out, Salahuddin 48; Azan Tariq 4-44)

Islamabad 209-4, 34.2 overs (Hassan Nawaz 54, Rohail Nazir 40; Najeebullah Jnr 2-53)