PCB Logo

Bowlers dominate in low-scoring encounters in round two of Hanif Mohammad Cup

Faisalabad, 3 November 2023: The second round of Hanif Mohammad Cup 2023-24 took place today at four venues across Faisalabad, Rahim Yar Khan and Multan. In Group A, batting efforts by Mohammad Arif and Anees Azam led Abbottabad to a seven-wicket win over Karachi Blues. DM Jamali won a tightly contested encounter against Hyderabad, winning by two wickets. In Group B, AJK won a close game against Larkana, getting over the line by just one wicket. Ashir Mehmood’s half-century allowed Sialkot to inflict a nine-wicket defeat over Quetta.

Group A

Abbottabad v Karachi Blues at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad:

Abbottabad’s decision to field first against Karachi Blues paid dividends as they chased the target of 174 in 27.3 overs with seven wickets remaining at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad. Mohammad Arif (81, 59b, 8x4s, 4x6s) starred with the bat to ensure a trouble-free chase. Fellow opener Anees Azam (56, 71b, 4x4s, 2x6s) was the other contributor with the bat as the two were involved in a 123-run partnership for the first wicket.

Aarish Ali Khan got two wickets and Asadullah Hamza had one wicket to his name.

Earlier, Karachi Blues were dismissed for 173 in 43 overs. Mohammad Taha was the highest scorer for the side, hitting 73 in 93 balls, including three boundaries and as many maximums. The second highest contribution in Karachi Blues’ paltry total was 19 off 32 by Hasan Mohsin that included a solitary four.

Israr Hussain and Adil Naz bagged three wickets each while Mansoor Ali and Khalid Usman got two wickets apiece.

Hyderabad v DM Jamali at Bohranwali Ground, Faisalabad:

Hyderabad were bundled over for just 99 in 33 overs after being put to bat first by DM Jamali at Bohranwali Ground, Faisalabad. Zain-ul-Abidin (52, 91b, 5x4s) scored more than half the runs for the side, as neither of his fellow teammates could stand their ground on the crease long enough. Only two other batters – Akbar Khan (15, 31b) and Haris Khan (10, 14b) – got into double figures.

Talib Hussain bagged a four-wicket haul while Nasir Khan and Nasir Ali had two each.

Hyderabad bowlers put up a good fight, snapping up eight wickets and extending the game to the 29th over of the chase. DM Jamali chased down the target of 100 in 28.2 overs. Nasir Khan was the top performer with the bat, hitting an unbeaten 23 from 57. Taimur Ali chipped in with 15 off 33 balls including two boundaries.

Leg-spinner Jawad Ali got a four-fer. Majid Asghar and Daniyal Hussain Rajput had two wickets apiece.

Group B

AJK v Larkana at Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex, Rahim Yar Khan:

AJK chose to field first against Larkana at the Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex, Rahim Yar Khan. Larkana were bowled out for 199 in 43.3 overs. Umer Khalid (75, 96b, 10x4s, 1x6) and Mohsin Raza (54, 64b, 4x4s, 1x6) were the prominent batters for the side.

Basit Ali registered a four-fer and Mohammad Shehzad got two wickets.

In turn, AJK scored 202-9 in 42 overs, winning the game by one wicket. Continuing his heroics, Basit was the top performer with the bat too, scoring 48 off 71 including a four and a six. Faizan Saleem (32 not out, 37b, 2x4s, 2x6s) and Mohammad Sadiq (30, 13b, 4x4s, 2x6s) also contributed to the chase.

Asif Ali Jnr, Aamir Ali Taheem and Mushtaq Ahmed all got two wickets as the Larkana bowlers kept things tight, taking wickets at regular intervals. However, AJK emerged on top by just one wicket to spare. 

Sialkot v Quetta at Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan:

Sialkot banked on their decision to bowl first and dismissed Quetta for a meagre 96 in 29.5 overs at Multan Cricket Stadium. There was not much to boast for the Quetta batting as Nadeem Ahmed (20, 34b, 2x4s), top-scored. Shoaib Akhtar and Sohaibullah picked up three wickets each while Asad Ali Jr bagged two scalps.

In reply, Ashir Mehmood (51 not out, 49b, 6x4s, 2x6s) helped his side cruise to the target. He was helped by Mirza Tahir Baig (29, 38b, 5x4s) on the other end.

Salahuddin was the lone wicket-taker for Quetta.


Scores in brief:

Group A

Abbottabad beat Karachi Blues by seven wickets

Karachi Blues 173 all out, 43 overs (Mohammad Taha 73, Hasan Mohsin 19; Israr Hussain 3-30, Adil Naz 3-32, Khalid Usman 2-27, Mansoor Ali 2-38)

Abbottabad 176-3, 27.3 overs (Mohammad Arif 81, Anees Azam 56 not out; Aarish Ali Khan 2-48, Asadullah Hamza 1-23)

DM Jamali beat Hyderabad by two wickets

Hyderabad 99 all out, 33 overs (Zain-ul-Abidin 52, Akbar Khan 15; Talib Hussain 4-14, Nasir Khan 2-20, Nasir Ali 2-20)

DM Jamali 100-8, 28.2 overs (Nasir Khan 23 not out, Taimur Ali 15; Jawad Ali 4-31, Majid Asghar 2-24, Daniyal Hussain Rajput 2-25)

Group B

AJK beat Larkana by one wicket

Larkana 199 all out, 43.3 overs (Umar Khalid 75, Mohsin Raza 54; Basit Ali 4-29, Mohammad Shehzad 2-43)

AJK 202-9, 42 overs (Basit Ali 48, Mohammad Shehzad 34, Faizan Saleem 32 not out, Mohammad Sadiq 30; Aamir Ali Taheem 2-20, Mushtaq Ahmed 2-30, Asif Ali Jnr 2-54)

Sialkot beat Quetta by nine wickets

Quetta 96 all out, 29.5 overs (Nadeem Ahmed 20; Shoaib Akhtar 3-26, Sohaibullah 3-31, Asad Ali Jnr 2-2)

Sialkot 99-1, 15.4 overs (Ashir Mehmood 51 not out, Mirza Tahir Baig 29; Salahuddin 1-10)