PCB Logo

Danish Aziz stars in Karachi Whites' emphatic win over Rawalpindi

  • Scorecard available here
  • Match photographs available here
  • Tournament points table available here

Karachi, 8 December 2023: The Super Eight stage of AH Group presents Jazz Super 4G National T20 Cup concluded with Karachi Whites beating Rawalpindi by a whopping margin of 86 runs.

Karachi Whites finished second on the Super Eight stage points table while Rawalpindi finished fourth which means both these teams will lock horns again in the second semi-final at 2000 PKT tomorrow. The first semi-final will be played between table-toppers Peshawar and third ranked Abbottabad at 1500 PKT.

After electing to bat first, Karachi Whites lost their dynamic opening batter, Ammad Alam (8, 7b) early in the fray. Omair Bin Yousuf, batting at No 3, looked in good rhythm as he top-scored with 46 from 39 balls while hitting four boundaries and three sixes. Danish Aziz (43, 26b, 2x4s, 3x6s) and Azam Khan (34 not out, 19b, 2x4s, 3x6s) joined forces in the middle-order and put on a vital partnership of 67 runs that helped Karachi Whites surge to 170-5. Jahandad Khan managed to pick up three wickets.

Rawalpindi’s chase was an absolute train-wreck as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Sohail Khan and Anwar Ali struck with the new ball as both the Rawalpindi opening batters, Yasir Khan (10, 10b, 2x4s) and Nasir Nawaz (5, 15b), returned to the hut.

Skipper Umar Amin and Haider Ali were undone on back-to-back balls by Danish Aziz leaving Rawalpindi 29-4. Mohammad Nawaz was the lone warrior as he battled for his 21-ball 32 hitting two boundaries and two sixes. Leg-spinner Arif Yaqoob chipped in with three wickets, becoming the leading wicket-taker of the tournament.

Rawalpindi were eventually bundled out for a paltry 84 in 14.1 overs. Danish Aziz was declared player of the match for his useful contributions with both bat and ball.

Scores in brief:

Karachi Whites beat Rawalpindi by 86 runs at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Karachi Whites 170-5, 20 overs (Omair Bin Yousuf 46, Danish Aziz 43, Azam Khan 34 not out; Jahandad Khan 3-37, Mohammad Nawaz 1-38, Bilawal Bhatti 1-39)

Rawalpindi 84 all out, 14.1 overs (Mohamamd Nawaz 32, Umair Masood 10, Yasir Khan 10; Arif Yaqoob 3-10, Sohail Khan 3-17, Anwar Ali 2-10, Danish Aziz 2-25)

Player of the match – Danish Aziz (Karachi Whites)