PCB Logo

Imran Butt and Haseebullah hit centuries in third round of Pakistan Cup

Rawalpindi, 5 November 2023: The third round of Pakistan Cup 2023-24, played at four venues across Rawalpindi, AJK and Abbottabad saw wins for Rawalpindi, Lahore Blues, Faisalabad and Peshawar. Rawalpindi chased the target of 202 against Lahore Whites in 35.1 overs with four wickets to spare. Lahore Blues defeated FATA by seven wickets, on the back of a brilliant century by their skipper Imran Butt. Faisalabad defeated Karachi Whites by seven wickets, courtesy of a solid batting effort by Mohammad Saleem and Atiq ur Rehman. Haseebullah’s unbeaten century went in vain as Multan lost to Peshawar by four wickets as the latter chased 258 in 43.5 overs, with four wickets to spare.

Rawalpindi v Lahore Whites at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

After being put in to bat first, skipper Saad Nasim’s unbeaten half-century led Lahore Whites to score 201-9 in the allotted 45 overs. He hit 78 from 83 balls, including seven boundaries and two maximums. The second-best score of the innings came from Umar Akmal’s bat, who produced 27 on 38 balls, including one boundary and two maximums.

Rawalpindi bowlers displayed an impressive collective performance; Kashif Ali grabbed three wickets while Mubasir Khan, Bilawal Bhatti and Jahandad Khan got two wickets each.

Rawalpindi completed the target in 35.1 overs with four wickets to spare. Bilawal (69 not out, 51b, 9x4s, 2x6s) and wicketkeeper-batter Umair Masood (37 not out, 37, 3x4s) were involved in an undefeated 106-run stand for the seventh wicket. Skipper Umar Amin chipped in with 36 runs from 38 balls, including five boundaries.

Aamir Jamal was the most successful bowler for Lahore Whites, accounting for two wickets. Ahmed Bashir, Ahmed Daniyal, Kamran Afzal and Saad Nasim got a wicket apiece.

FATA v Lahore Blues at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

After winning the toss, Lahore Blues decided to bowl first against FATA at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium. FATA scored 277-8 in the allotted 45 overs, on the backs of half-centuries produced by Samiullah Jnr (62, 64b, 9x4s) and Mohammad Farooq (54, 50b, 6x4s, 2x6s). Mohammad             Nisar Afridi (41, 31b, 6x4s) was the other contributor with the bat.

Pacers Salman Irshad and Hunain Shah picked up two wickets, as did spinner Qasim Akram.

Lahore Blues skipper Imran Butt produced an outstanding century (128, 113b, 13x4s, 3x6s) that led the team to 281-3 in 41.5 overs. Rizwan Hussain (83, 72b, 9x4s, 4x6s) and Ibtisam-ul-Haq (43, 46b, 4x4s) complemented their skipper’s batting efforts, ensuring Lahore Blues got over the line with ease.

Maaz Khan and Khushdil Shah were the only two wicket-taking bowlers for FATA as both took one wicket each.

Faisalabad v Karachi Whites at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad

It took Faisalabad just 40 overs to get to their target of 255 against Karachi Whites at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium. Mohammad Saleem (90 not out, 102b, 10x4s) and Atiq-ur-Rehman (74 not out, 64b, 9x4s, 1x6) ensured that the game remained squarely in their control, maintaining a run-rate of 6.45 in the chase.

Danish Aziz took two wickets while Sohail Khan had one scalp to his name.

Earlier, Karachi Whites put up 254-8 in the allotted 45 overs. Danish Aziz (49, 63b, 4x4s, 1x6) and Azam Khan (40, 54b, 2x4s, 2x6s) were the top performers with the bat for the side.

Faheem Ashraf grabbed three wickets, while Mohammad Faizan had two wickets to his name.

Peshawar v Multan at Mirpur Cricket Stadium, AJK

After being put in to bat first by Peshawar, Multan scored 257-3 in the stipulated 45 overs. Haseebullah produced his sixth List A century, hitting 116 from 123 including 12 boundaries. Zain Abbas (55, 75b, 6x4s) and Mohammad Shehzad (48, 51b, 2x4s, 1x6) added useful runs as well.

Right-arm pacer Abbas Afridi took two wickets, while off-spinner Sajid Khan claimed one wicket.

Adil Amin (74 not out, 64b, 7x4s, 1x6) was the top performer as Peshawar cruised to 258 in 43.5 overs with four wickets to spare. Zain Khan (63, 83b, 5x4s, 2x6s) was the other contributor with the bat. Zahid Mehmood got a four-fer and Sharoon Siraj registered two wickets for Multan.

Scores in brief:

Rawalpindi beat Lahore Whites by four wickets

Lahore Whites 201-9, 45 overs (Saad Nasim 78 not out, Umar Akmal 27; Kashif Ali 3-25, Bilawal Bhatti 2-31, Jahandad Khan 2-44, Mubasir Khan 2-54)

Rawalpindi 203-6, 35.1 overs (Bilawal Bhatti 69 not out, Umair Masood 37 not out, Umar Amin 36; Aamir Jamal 2-51, Ahmed Bashir 1-20, Kamran Afzal 1-32, Saad Nasim 1-46, Ahmed Daniyal 1-50)

Lahore Blues beat FATA by seven wickets

FATA 277-8, 45 overs (Samiullah Jnr 62, Mohammad Farooq 54, Mohammad Nisar Afridi 41; Qasim Akram 2-42, Salman Irshad 2-44, Hunain Shah 2-49)

Lahore Blues 281-3, 41.5 overs (Imran Butt 128, Rizwan Hussain 83, Ibtisam-ul-Haq 43; Khushdil Shah 1-45, Maaz Khan 1-59)

Faisalabad beat Karachi Whites by seven wickets

Karachi Whites 254-8, 45 overs (Danish Aziz 49, Azam Khan 40; Faheem Ashraf 3-64, Mohammad Faizan 2-44)

Faisalabad 258-3, 40 overs (Mohammad Saleem 90 not out, Atiq-ur-Rehman 74 not out; Danish Aziz 2-37, Sohail Khan 1-42)

Peshawar beat Multan by four wickets

Multan 257-3, 45 overs (Haseebullah 116 not out, Zain Abbas 55, Mohammad Shahzad 48; Abbas Afridi 2-48, Sajid Khan 1-27)

Peshawar 258-6, 43.5 overs (Adil Amin 74 not out, Zain Khan 63; Zahid Mehmood 4-44, Sharoon Siraj 2-28)