PCB Logo

Islamabad and Hyderabad victorious in second round of Super Four stage of Hanif Mohammad Cup

Faisalabad, 14 November 2023: Islamabad and Hyderabad registered victories in the second round of the Super Four stage of the Hanif Mohammad Cup against Abbottabad and AJK respectively at two venues across Faisalabad. Hyderabad’s Daniyal Hussain Rajput and Tayyab Ali Shah delivered commendable performances while Islamabad’s Hasan Nawaz led his side to victory against Abbottabad.

AJK v Hyderabad at Iqbal Stadium, Faislabad

Hyderabad easily chased AJK’s target of 151 inside 36 overs and recorded an impressive innings despite losing crucial wickets early on. Opener Sher Afzal lost his wicket in the third over after making eight off 10 while opener Zain-ul-Abdin was sent packing in the sixth over after scoring 10 off 14 deliveries. Rizwan Mehmood and Mohammad Suleman failed to make an impact and were sent home after making one off eight and one off 13 balls respectively.

Tayyab Ali Shah and Daniyal Hussain Rajput emerged as Hyderabad’s saviours with the former making an impressive 65 not out off 98 balls featuring five boundaries and one six. Daniyal managed to make a handsome 53 not out off 71. AJK’s Naveed Malik clinched three wickets at the expense of 18 runs while Basit Ali claimed one wicket conceding 24 runs.

Earlier AJK had a set a target of 151 after being all out for 150 in 40.1 overs. AJK batters registered a dismal performance with openers Syed Hashim Shah and Javed Khan losing their wickets in the ninth and 12th overs respectively. Usman Maroof emerged as AJK’s highest scorer with a modest 34 off 45 deliveries. Mohammad Haider made 21 off 35 while Mohammad Shehzad managed a brisk 21 off 21 balls. Daniyal Hussain Rajput registered a sensational five-fer while conceding 35 runs. Asim Jutt claimed two wickets while Majid Asghar and Jawad Ali took one wicket each.

Abbottabad v Islamabad at Bohranwali Ground, Faisalabad

Islamabad defeated Abbottabad by nine wickets in the second round of the Super Four stage of the Hanif Mohammad Cup. Islamabad were able to chase Abbottabad’s target of 130 inside 18 overs with right-handed opener Hasan Nawaz emerging as the highest run-getter with an impressive 77 off 45 deliveries featuring nine boundaries and four sixes before being bowled by Adil Naz in the 13th over. Sudais Ulfat managed to pull off 31 not out off 40 while Hammad Siddique scored 19 not out off 20.

Earlier, Abbottabad made 129 all out in 36.1 overs. Opener Mohammad Arif lost his wicket to Umair Afridi in the fifth over making only seven off 16 deliveries. Fellow opening batter Anees Azam made 33 off 55 before being bowled by Shayan Sheikh in the 18th over. Afaq Khan fell two runs short of a half-century making 48 off 69 balls before conceding his wicket to Musa Khan. Ahmed Khan managed 16 off 28 while Haroon made eight off 26. Islamabad pacer Musa Khan and left-arm spinner Shayan Sheikh claimed three scalps each while conceding 20 and 21 runs respectively. Umair Afridi, Farmanullah Khan and Sudais Ulfat claimed one wicket each

Scores in brief

Hyderabad beat AJK by six wickets

AJK 150 all out, 40.1 overs (Usman Maroof 34, Mohammad Haider 21, Mohammad Shehzad 21; Daniyal Hussain Rajput 5-35, Asim Jutt 2-33)

Hyderabad 151-4, 35.3 overs (Tayyab Ali Shah 65 not out, Daniyal Hussain Rajput 53 not out; Naveed Malik 3-18, Basit Ali 1-24)

Islamabad beat Abbottabad by nine wickets

Abbottabad 129 all out, 36.1 overs (Afaq Khan 48, Anees Azam 33; Musa Khan 3-20, Shayan Sheikh 3-21)

Islamabad 130-1, 17.3 overs (Hasan Nawaz 77, Sudais Ulfat 31 not out; Adil Naz 1-8)