PCB Logo

Kamran, Abdullah slam centuries as SNGPL advance to final

  • Scorecard available here; right-free photographs can be downloaded here

Lahore, 9 May 2024: Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) beat State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) to seal a berth in the final of President’s Cup Grade-I 2023-24, at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Thursday.

SNGPL cruised to the 279-run target comfortably with eight wickets in hand and 24 balls to spare. Kamran Ghulam (110 not out, 97b, 9x4s, 2x6s) and Abdullah Shafique (101, 102b, 10x4s, 1x6) starred with brilliant centuries keeping SBP bowlers at bay throughout the chase. The duo also shared a 116-run second-wicket partnership.

Meanwhile, Omair Bin Yousuf stayed undefeated with 40 off 38 balls comprising four boundaries and also shared a solid 97-run unbeaten stand with Kamran. 

Earlier, after opting to bat first under the scorching sun, SBP lost their in-form opening batter Mohammad Faizan (10, 8b, 1x6) early, who fell prey to Shahnawaz Dahani. Zain Abbas, who struck a crafty century (108, 101b, 17x4s), joined forces with skipper Usman Salahuddin (44, 75b, 4x4s) to stitch a 144-run second-wicket partnership before the former was dismissed by Mohammad Ali.

Zain’s departure in the 32nd over initiated a collapse as SBP lost the last seven wickets for just 81 runs. Mohammad Mohsin, batting at five, helped his team post 278 all out, with a brisk half-century laced with six fours and three maximums returning for 62 off 48 balls.

Ali was the pick of the SNGPL bowlers, dismissing three batters while left-arm spinner Mehran Mumtaz and Dahani picked up two wickets apiece.

Scores in brief:

SNGPL beat SBP by eight wickets at Gaddafi Stadium

SBP 278 all out, 49.3 overs (Zain Abbas 108, Mohammad Mohsin 62, Usman Salahuddin 44; Mohammad Ali 3-49, Mehran Mumtaz 2-49, Shahnawaz Dahani 2-60)

SNGPL 282-2, 46 overs (Kamran Ghulam 110 not out, Abdullah Shafique 101, Omair Bin Yousuf 40 not out)

2nd Semi Final: May 10 - Higher Education Commission vs Ghani Glass, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore (3pm PKT)