PCB Logo

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa beat Balochistan by 10 wickets despite Bismillah Khan's ton

Lahore, 29 September 2022: Balochistan’s Bismillah Khan century went in vain as Khyber Pakhtunkhwa defeated Balochistan by 10 wickets at the NBP Sports Complex in the opening round match of the Cricket Associations Championship on Thursday.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa v Balochistan

Wicketkeeper-batter Bismillah Khan contributed an unbeaten 144 off 148 balls in Balochistan’s second innings of 233 all out in 53 overs. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Niaz Khan and Mohammad Imran bagged three wickets apiece, while Maaz Khan took two wickets.

Chasing a modest 29-run to win, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa achieved the target in the sixth wicket without losing any wicket.

Earlier, resuming their first innings at the score of 449 for nine in 106 overs, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were dismissed for 461 in the 110th over.

Southern Punjab v Northern

At the KCCA Stadium, resuming their second innings at the overnight score of 82 for two, Southern Punjab were bowled out for 290 in the 90th over. Mohammad Umair coming to bat at number seven top-scored with a 105-ball 85, which included three fours and three sixes. Rameez Alam scored a 139-ball 74, hitting six fours. Umer Khan who bagged five wickets in the first innings, bagged six wickets for 123 runs.

Chasing 380 to win, Northern were 101 for one in 26 overs when stumps were drawn. Nasir Nawaz returned undefeated on a 51-ball 54, smashing four fours and two sixes.

Central Punjab v Sindh

Danish Aziz – batting at number five scored a valuable 86 off 183, which included nine boundaries to help Sindh post 202 all out from their overnight score of 45 for four in their second innings. Bilal Asif and Mohammad Waheed bagged three wickets each for Central Punjab. Chasing 225 to win, Central Punjab were 130 for no loss in 34 overs. Opening batters Imran Dogar (58, 110b, nine fours) and Rizwan Hussain (61, 96b, eight fours, one six) returned undefeated.

Scores in brief:

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa beat Balochistan by 10 wickets at the NBP Sports Complex

Balochistan 256 all out, 71.3 overs (Mohammad Shahid 65, Jalat Khan 45; Maaz Khan 3-60, Mohammad Imran 3-62, Mohammad Abbas Afridi 2-46) and 233 all out, 53 overs (Bismillah Khan 144 not out; Niaz Khan 3-28, Mohammad Imran 3-51, Maaz Khan 2-59)

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 461 all out, 109.4 overs (Maaz Ahmed Sadaqat 114, Mohsin Khan 82, Israrullah 71, Mohammad Bilal 56 not out, Mehran Ibrahim 53; Jalat Khan 4-109, Gohar Faiz 3-102) and 29-0, 5.4 overs

Southern Punjab v Northern at the KCCA Stadium, Karachi

Southern Punjab 273 all out, 82.2 overs (Zeeshan Ashraf 130, Rameez Alam 66, Mohammad Umair 41; Umer Khan 5-97, Aaqib Liaquat 3-88) and 290 all out, 89.5 overs (Mohammad Umair 85, Rameez Alam 74, Waqar Hussain 47; Umer Khan 6-123)

Northern 184 all out, 62 overs (Aqib Shah 64, Nasir Nawaz 56; Faisal Akram 5-68, Mohammad Jahangir 2-34) and 101-1, 26 overs (Nasir Nawaz 54 not out, Taimoor Sultan 34 not out)

Central Punjab v Sindh at the UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

Sindh 256 all out, 85.3 overs (Mohammad Hasan 72, Danish Aziz 56, Hasan Mohsin 45, Mohammad Taha 37; Nisar Ahmad 4-29, Bilawal Iqbal 3-29) and 202 all out, 72.1 overs (Danish Aziz 86; Mohammad Waheed 3-50, Bilal Asif 3-57, Ali Shafiq 2-23)

Central Punjab 234 all out, 62.2 overs (Irfan Khan 74, Rizwan Hussain 59; Arish Ali Khan 4-53, Majid Asghar 3-37, Tabish Khan 2-41) and 130-0, 34 overs