PCB Logo

Lahore Blues and Islamabad win close encounters on day three of National T20 Cup 2023-24

  • Urdu round-up is attached here
  • Scorecards available here

Karachi, 26 November 2023: The third day of the AH Group Presents Jazz Super 4G National T20 Cup 2023-24 saw six games played across three venues in Karachi. In Group A, Peshawar and Karachi Blues came out victorious. Group B saw Lahore Blues and Islamabad emerge on top while Abbottabad and Bahawalpur had successful outings in Group C.

Group A

Owing to unbeaten half-centuries by Iftikhar Ahmed and Aamer Azmat, Peshawar posted 158-2 in the stipulated 13 overs in the rain-impacted game against Quetta at NBP Sports Complex in Karachi. In turn, Quetta could only manage 89, losing seven wickets in the process which came courtesy of a collective effort by the Peshawar bowling attack.

At the same venue, Karachi Blues inflicted a nine-wicket defeat on Larkana, who were bowled out for just 61 in 16.5 overs as Syed Waleed Azeem got four wickets while Mohammad Taha and Afnan Khan returned with two each. Karachi Blues chased the target in 8.2 overs, while losing just a wicket.

Group B

Right-arm fast bowler Hunain Shah defended 10 runs in the final over to help Lahore Blues to a five-run win against Karachi Whites at National Bank Stadium. On the back of a half-century Imran Butt, Lahore Blues posted 159-8 in 20 overs. Batting efforts by Ammad Alam, Azam Khan and Omair Bin Yousuf went in vain as their team could only get to 154-7 in the allotted overs.

An undefeated half-century by Hammad Siddique allowed Islamabad to win against Dera Murad Jamali by two wickets. DM Jamali were dismissed for 127 in 19.1 overs courtesy of a four-fer by Umair Afridi. Islamabad faltered while chasing a low total, losing eight wickets in the process, but were able to get over the line on the last ball of the game.

Group C

At HPC Oval Ground, Zeeshan Malik hit his maiden T20 century to help Rawalpindi post 174-6 in 20 overs. In reply, Faisalabad could only get to 147-9, falling well short of the required total. Two wickets each by Mehran Mumtaz, Mubasir Khan and Jahandad Khan helped Rawalpindi’s cause with the ball.

Abbottabad successfully chased the target of 116 against Bahawalpur, doing so in only 13 overs and seven wickets to spare as Fakhar Zaman and Sajjad Ali Jnr starred with the bat. Earlier, Bahawalpur had been restricted to 115-9 in 20 overs due to a solid performance by the Abbottabad bowlers.

Scores in brief:

Group A

Peshawar beat Quetta by 69 runs at NBP Sports Complex

Peshawar 158-2, 13 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 51 not out, Aamer Azmat 50 not out, Mohammad Haris 39; Jalat Khan 2-12)

Quetta 89-7, 13 overs (Salahuddin 34 not out, Syed Zainullah 16; Imran Khan Snr 2-16, Mohammad Abbas Afridi 2-19, Iftikhar Ahmed 1-12, Mohammad Imran 1-18, Azam Khan 1-24)

Karachi Blues beat Larkana by nine wickets at NBP Sports Complex

Larkana 61 all out, 16.5 overs (Faraz Aziz 26; Syed Waleed Azeem 4-9, Mohammad Taha 2-4, Afnan Khan 2-16, Saqib Khan 1-5, Hasan Mohsin 1-12)

Karachi Blues 63-1, 8.2 overs (Mohammad Taha 36 not out, Jahanzaib Sultan 18; Ali Asghar 1-15)

Group B

Lahore Blues beat Karachi Whites by five runs at National Bank Stadium

Lahore Blues 159-8, 20 overs (Imran Butt 54, Hussain Talat 45; Aftab Ibrahim 2-15, Arif Yaqoob 2-26, Sohail Khan 2-30, Asad Shafiq 1-13, Ziaullah 1-17)

Karachi Whites 154-7, 20 overs (Ammad Alam 45, Azam Khan 35, Omair Bin Yousuf 31; Kashif Bhatti 2-29, Hussain Talat 1-16, Umaid Asif 1-21, Salman Irshad 1-29, Hunain Shah 1-42)

Islamabad beat Dera Murad Jamali by two wickets at National Bank Stadium

DM Jamali 127 all out, 19.1 overs (Zubair Khan 46, Basit Ali 28; Umair Afridi 4-24, Musa Khan 3-22, Shayan Sheikh 1-6, Farmanullah Khan 1-24)

Islamabad 130-8, 20 overs (Hammad Siddique 51 not out, Ali Imran 24; Saleem Mal 2-26, Mohammad Shahid 2-37, Nasir Khan 1-17, Zahoor Ahmed 1-20)

Group C

Rawalpindi beat Faisalabad by 27 runs at HPC Oval Ground

Rawalpindi 174-6, 20 overs (Zeeshan Malik 107 not out, Haider Ali 32; Asad Raza 2-43, Sadaqat Ali 1-22, Shehzad Gul 1-28, Waqas Maqsood 1-36)

Faisalabad 147-9, 20 overs (Asif Ali 32, Muhammad Irfan Khan 32, Abdul Samad 20, Ahmed Safi Abdullah 20 not out; Mehran Mumtaz 2-18, Jahandad Khan 2-28, Mubasir Khan 2-42, Mohammad Faizan 1-29)

Abbottabad beat Bahawalpur by seven wickets at HPC Oval Ground

Bahawalpur 115-9, 20 overs (Mohammad Shahid 55; Aqib Khan 2-17, Khalid Usman 2-15, Kamran Ghulam 1-10, Yasir Shah 1-21, Adil Naz 1-22)

Abbottabad 116-3, 13 overs (Fakhar Zaman 42, Sajjad Ali Jnr 30; Mohammad Shahid 2-15, Mohammad Junaid 1-35)