PCB Logo

Mohammad Rizwan's 89 leads Pakistan to four-wicket win in third T20I

Napier, 22 December 2020: Wicketkeeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan scored a career-best 89 off 59 balls (10 fours, three sixes) as Pakistan recorded a four-wicket victory in the third and final T20I against New Zealand at the Mc Lean Park, Napier on Tuesday. New Zealand took the series 2-1 courtesy their five and nine-wicket win in the first two matches played in Auckland and Hamilton respectively.

Set a 174-run target, Pakistan chased down the target with two balls to spare with Iftikhar Ahmed hitting a six to seal the win.

Man-of-the-Match Rizwan added 40 runs for the first-wicket with Haider Ali (11), the foundation of the win was laid with the right-hander’s 72-run second-wicket partnership with the in-form Mohammad Hafeez who followed up on his unbeaten 99 in the previous game with a 41-run contribution off 29 balls (two fours, three sixes).

Rizwan and Hafeez took the attack to the New Zealand bowlers and kept Pakistan in the hunt with their stroke play before Rizwan lifted the scoring rate in the company of Khushdil Shah (13).

Iftikhar remained unbeaten on 14 off seven balls and finished the game in Pakistan’s favour after the tourists had lost Faheem Ashraf (2), Shadab Khan (0) and Rizwan in quick succession.

Earlier, Pakistan captain Shadab won the toss and opted to field first. New Zealand started their innings in an aggressive manner as openers Martin Guptill and Tim Seifert added 40 runs inside five overs. Pakistan made the breakthrough when Haris Rauf dismissed Guptill for 19 runs.

Faheem got rid of New Zealand captain Kane Williamson (1) before removing the in-form Seifert for 35 (two fours, three sixes).

Devon Conway was the mainstay of the Black Caps innings, the left-hander scored 63 off 45 balls with the help of seven fours and a six. Glenn Phillips scored a quickfire 31 off 20 balls (four fours) as the hosts finished their 20 overs at 173 for seven.

Faheem was the pick of the Pakistan bowlers taking three wickets for 20 runs, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf took two wickets each conceding 43 and 44 runs respectively.

Scores in brief:

New Zealand 173 for 7, 20 overs (Devon Conway 63, Tim Seifert 35, Glenn Phillips 31; Faheem Ashraf 3-20, Shaheen Shah Afridi 2-43, Haris Rauf 2-44)

Pakistan 177 for 6, 19.4 overs (Mohammad Rizwan 89, Mohammad Hafeez 41; Tim Southee 2-25, Scott Kuggeleijn)

Result – Pakistan won by four wickets

Player of the match – Mohammad Rizwan

Player of the series – Tim Seifert