PCB Logo

Pakistan 'A' squad for New Zealand three-day game named

LAHORE–October 30: Chairman PCB Mr Shaharyar M. Khan has approved the 15-member Pakistan `A’ side picked by the selection committee headed by Moin Khan. The squad will take on New Zealand in a three-day match at Sharjah from Nov. 3 to 5, 2014.

The squad:
1. Abid Ali
2. Adil Amin
3. Adnan Akmal (wicketkeeper)
4. Anwar Ali (captain)
5. Attaullah
6. Babar Azam
7. Bilawal Bhatti
8. Ehsan Adil
9. Haris Sohail
10. Junaid Ilyas
11. Karamat Ali
12. Raza Hasan
13. Saad Ali
14. Sami Aslam
15. Shaan Masood

The Synopsis:
The side includes four Test cricketers – Adnan Akmal, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil and Shan Masood, and three internationals, namely Haris Sohail, Raza Hasan and Anwar Ali. Raza Hasan, along with Sami Aslam and Karamat Ali, was part of the Pakistan Under-19 side that reached the final of the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2014 in the United Arab Emirates.
Adnan, Attaullah, Babar, Ehsan, Haris, Karamat, Raza and Shan were also part of the four-day match between Pakistan `A’ and Australia. From the side that beat Australia by 153 runs, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Imran Khan and Rahat Ali featured in the first Test, which Pakistan won by 221 runs.

Moin Khan Quote:
Announcing the squad, Chairman of Selectors, Moin Khan said: “The selectors are committed to give budding youngsters every opportunity against international sides to express themselves and stake a claim in the Pakistan side.
“We are very fortunate to have a big pool of quality cricketers but only 15 players can be selected for a match. Those not selected for the New Zealand three-dayer, shouldn’t be disappointed. Instead, they must focus on domestic cricket and continue to work hard as every performance will be considered seriously and players showing consistency will be rewarded at some stage.”