PCB Logo

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by an innings and 44 runs

· Urdu match report is attached

Rawalpindi, 10 February 2020: It took Pakistan less than a session on the fourth day to take Bangladesh’s remaining four wickets and register an emphatic win in the first Test at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by margin of an innings and 44 runs to secure another 60 ICC World Test Championship points.

Bangladesh added only 42 runs to their overnight score as they were bowled out for 168 in their second innings.

Their captain Mominul Haque (41) was the first wicket to fall on Monday as he was trapped LBW by Shaheen Afridi. His fellow-pacer Mohammad Abbas struck 26 runs later and sent Rubel Hossain back to the pavilion with a delivery that thudded on the his pads in front of stumps.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah finished added two wickets to his tally by accounting for the wickets of Liton Das (29) and Aby Jayed to finish with the figures of four for 58.

On Sunday evening, Naseem Shah had turned the match on its head with a hattrick minutes before the end of the day’s play.

The 16-year-old pacer had four wickets for 26 runs to his name before he walked out of the field due to a side strain and did not take field on day four.

He was named the player of the match for his extraordinary role in helping Pakistan set-up a win.

Pakistan had put Bangladesh into bat after winning the toss on Friday. The visitors were bowled out for 233 to which Pakistan replied with a 445 all-out with superb centuries by Shan Masood (100) and Babar Azam (143).

The second and final Test between the two sides will be played from 5-9 April.

Scores in brief

Bangladesh 233 all-out, 82.5 overs (Mohammad Mithun 63, Najmul Hossain Shanto 44, Liton Das 33, Mominul Haque 30; Shaheen Afridi 4-53, Haris Sohail 2-11, Mohammad Abbas 2-19) and 168 all-out, 62.2 overs (Mominul Haque 41, Najmul Hossain Shanto 38, Tamim Iqbal 34; Naseem Shah 4-26, Yasir Shah 4-58)

Pakistan 445 all-out, 122.5 overs (Babar Azam 143, Shan Masood 100, Harish Sohail 75, Asad Shafiq 65; Abu Jayed 3-86, Rubel Hossain 3-113, Taijul Islam 2-139)