PCB Logo

Shan Masood smashes unbeaten century in round four of Pakistan Cup

Rawalpindi, 7 November 2023: The fourth round of Pakistan Cup 2023-24, played at four venues across Rawalpindi, AJK and Abbottabad saw Karachi Whites, Peshawar, Rawalpindi and FATA emerge victorious. Shan Masood hit an unbeaten century to take Karachi Whites to an eight-wicket victory over Lahore Whites. On the back of half-centuries by Kamran Ghulam and Adil Amin, Peshawar defeated Lahore Blues by six wickets. Heroics by Mubasir Khan awarded Rawalpindi a seven-wicket win over Faisalabad while FATA secured a 60-run victory over Multan.

Karachi Whites v Lahore Whites at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Lahore Whites scored 249-5 in the allotted 45 overs after being put into bat first by Karachi Whites at Pindi Cricket Stadium. Tayyab Tahir top-scored for the side, hitting an undefeated 92 from 93 balls, including eight fours and a six. He was supported by Umar Akmal, who chipped in with 45 from 35 including two boundaries and as many sixes. Left-arm spinner Noman Ali and pacer Anwar Ali bagged two wickets each.

Karachi Whites got to 250-2 in 34.4 overs owing to extraordinary batting by left-handed opener Shan Masood. He scored an unbeaten century (121 not out, 99b, 12x6s, 2x6s), which placed the game completely in Karachi Whites’ favor. His efforts were complemented by veteran Asad Shafiq (86 not out, 89b, 9x4s). Ahmed Bashir was the solitary wicket-taker for Lahore Whites, accounting for the two wickets to fall.

Peshawar v Lahore Blues at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

After winning the toss, Peshawar invited Lahore Blues to bat first at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium. The Imran Butt-led side were dismissed for 173 in 42 overs. The skipper scored bulk of the runs, hitting 94 from 129, including 10 boundaries and a maximum. The second-best score of the innings came from Rizwan Hussain’s bat, who produced 22 from 17, including four boundaries. Left-arm spinner Azam Khan returned with a four-wicket haul. Off-spinner Sajid Khan and fast bowler Mohammad Imran got two wickets each.

It took Peshawar 35.4 overs to complete the target of 174, losing only four wickets in the chase. Kamran Ghulam (54, 49b, 8x4s, 1x6) and Adil Amin (50 not out, 74b, 5x4s, 1x6) ensured that the chase remained comfortably in their control. Ali Shafique took two wickets while Hunain Shah Ibtisam-ul-Haq had one each.

Faisalabad v Rawalpindi at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad

Rawalpindi opted to bowl first after winning the toss against Faisalabad at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium. Faheem Ashraf-led Faisalabad managed to score 197 in 39.5 overs. Mohammad Saleem (41, 55b, 5x4s, 1x6) and Ali Shan (37, 42b, 5x4s) were the notable run-getters for the side. Mehran Mumtaz, Mohammad Awais Anwar and Jahandad Khan grabbed two wickets each.

After losing three early wickets in the chase, an unbroken 179-run-stand between Mubasir Khan and Umar Amin turned the game in Rawalpindi’s favor, who got over the line in 38.5 overs. Mubasir remained one short of his century, hitting an undefeated 99 from 105, including seven fours and four sixes. Umar also hit a crucial half-century (65 not out, 98b, 7x4s). Khurram Shahzad grabbed two wickets while Waqas Maqsood bagged a wicket as well.

FATA v Multan at Mirpur Cricket Stadium, AJK

Multan suffered a heavy defeat by 60 runs against FATA at Mirpur Cricket Stadium. The side could only manage to get to 129 while chasing 190. FATA impressed with the ball while defending a low target; skipper Khushdil Shah accounted for three scalps and Asif Afridi and Irfanullah Shah bagged two wickets each. Fighting knocks by Sharoon Siraj (58, 82b, 3x4s, 4x6s) and Sharjeel Khan (38, 32b, 5x4s, 1x6) went in vain.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, FATA got to 189 in 42.5 overs, on the backs of gritty batting efforts by Mohammad Sarwar Afridi (53, 79b, 4x4s, 2x6s), Khushdil (33, 50b, 2x4s) and Mohammad Farooq (32, 30b, 6x4s, 1x6). Leg-spinner Zahid Mehmood had three wickets to his name, while Tahir Hussain, Waseem Akram and Faisal Akram claimed two wickets each.

Scores in brief:

Karachi Whites beat Lahore Whites by eight wickets

Lahore Whites 249-5, 45 overs (Tayyab Tahir 92 not out, Umar Akmal 45; Noman Ali 2-36, Anwar Ali 2-64)

Karachi Whites 250-2, 34.4 overs (Shan Masood 121 not out, Asad Shafiq 86 not out; Ahmed Bashir 2-45)

Peshawar beat Lahore Blues by six wickets

Lahore Blues 173 all out, 42 overs (Imran Butt 94, Rizwan Hussain 22; Azam Khan 4-41, Sajid Khan 2-19, Mohammad Imran 2-47)

Peshawar 174-4, 35.3 overs (Kamran Ghulam 54, Adil Amin 50 not out; Ali Shafique 2-46, Hunain Shah 1-21, Ibtisam ul Haq 1-27)

Rawalpindi beat Faisalabad by seven wickets

Faisalabad 197 all out, 39.5 overs (Mohammad Saleem 41, Ali Shan 37; Mehran Mumtaz 2-22, Mohammad Awais Anwar 2-51, Jahandad Khan 2-53)

Rawalpindi 198-3, 38.5 overs (Mubasir Khan 99 not out, Umar Amin 65 not out; Khurram Shahzad 2-32, Waqas Maqsood 1-26)

FATA beat Multan by 60 runs

FATA 189 all out, 42.5 overs (Mohammad Sarwar Afridi 53, Khushdil Shah 33, Mohammad Farooq 32; Zahid Mehmood 3-21, Tahir Hussain 2-27, Waseem Akram 2-37, Faisal Akram 2-41)

Multan 129 all out, 33.1 overs (Sharoon Siraj 58, Sharjeel Khan 38; Khushdil Shah 3-23, Irfanullah Shah 2-21, Asif Afridi 2-22)