PCB Logo

Sialkot grab their second win of the season after defeating AJK

Lahore, 1 October 2023: Sialkot defeated AJK by four wickets on the last day of fourth round match of the Hanif Mohammad Trophy 2023-2024 at Muzaffarabad Cricket Ground. Both, at Mirpur Cricket Stadium and Sheikh Khalil Stadium in Rahim Yar Khan, definitive results could not be produced in favour of either sides playing the games. Hence, Islamabad and Quetta as well as Bahawalpur and Hyderabad ended the fourth round of the Hanif Mohammad Trophy with draws to their names.

AJK v Sialkot at Muzaffarabad Cricket Ground

AJK resumed their innings 151 runs for six wickets. Raja Farhan Khan (39, 118b, 3x4s) was the highest scorer for the side as they scraped to 203 runs before they were bowled out by the Sialkot bowlers. Mohammad Waleed, who got six wickets, was the pick of the bowlers.

On the back of an unbeaten half-century produced by Ayaz Tasawwur, Sialkot were able to close in on the target of 175 runs on the final day. Ayaz, who scored 58 runs from 83 balls and two boundaries, was helped by Salman Khan who scored 41 runs on 80 balls, hitting six boundaries.

Naveed Malik’s five-wicket-haul went in vain as Sialkot won by four wickets.

Islamabad v Quetta at Mirpur Cricket Stadium

Quetta started their day at 99 for five after struggling with the bat towards the end of the previous day. They could only manage to get to 143 before they were bowled out. Mohammad Junaid (33, 54b, 2x4s) was the highest scorer in the innings. Haris Hassan’s five-wicket-haul was the highlight of the innings.

Islamabad could not steady themselves on the crease. Highest-scorer Faizan Riaz, who remained unbeaten, scored 39 runs from 81 balls and hit two fours. The side got to 128 runs in 58 overs, and lost five wickets in the process, as time ran out and match was drawn.

Gohar Faiz, who had two wickets, was the most successful bowler for Quetta in the last innings.

Bahawalpur v Hyderabad at Sheikh Khalia Sports Complex Rahim Yar Khan

Hyderabad’s score read 404 for five at the start of the final day. To take the side to 496, Daniyal Hussain Rajput, who had scored 80 runs the previous day, added 30 more before he was run out. His knock (110, 271b, 12x4s, 2x6s) was the second century of the innings, after Mohammad Suleman’s 143 (251b, 23x4s) that came earlier.

Mohammad Umair got four wickets at the expense of 84 runs. He was supported by Mohammad Junaid, who got three wickets.

Bahawalpur added 127 runs without any loss of wicket, with both the openers scoring half-centuries. Ali Imran scored 65 in 103 balls, including six boundaries and two maximums while Aun Shahzad hit 61 runs in 132 balls, including five boundaries and a maximum.

The match was drawn.

Scores in brief

AJK v Sialkot at Muzaffarabad Cricket Ground

Sialkot win by four wickets.

AJK: 346 all out in 113.2 overs (Naveed Malik 103, Rohaan Qadri 64*; Mohammad Farhan 4-77) and 203 all out in 65.2 overs (Raja Farhan Khan 39; Mohammad Waleed 6-59)

Sialkot: 375 all out 102.2 overs (Ashir Mahmood 168, Salman Khan 61; Aqib Liaqat 4-97, Faizan Saleem 4-97) and 179-6 in 48.2 overs (Ayaz Tasawwur 58 not out, Salman Khan 41; Naveed Malik 5-48)

Islamabad v Quetta at Mirpur Cricket Stadium     

Match Drawn

Quetta: 410 all out 109.1 overs (Abdul Wahid Bangalzai 157, Bismillah Khan 61; Haris Hassan 4-76, Mohammad Moeez Khan 3-85) and 143 all out 47.5 overs (Mohammad Junaid 33; Haris Hassan 5-62)

Islamabad: 300 all out in 104 overs (Mohammad Musa 102 not out, Rizwan Ali 56; Jalat Khan 5-57, Najeeb Ullah 3-58) and 128-5 in 59 overs (Faizan Riaz 39 not out; Gohar Faiz 2-30)

Abbottabad v DM Jamali at Multan Cricket Stadium 

Abbottabad win by an innings and two runs

DM Jamali: 188 all out in 70.5 overs (Mohammad Deen 46; Khalid Usman 4-49, Israr Hussain 3-35) and 200 all out in 81.3 overs (Taimur Ali 108, Mohammad Shahid 61; Israr Hussain 4-32, Khalid Usman 3-47)

Abbottabad: 390 all out in 99.3 overs (Khayyam Khan 114, Khalid Usman 101; Mohammad Shahid 3-65)

Bahawalpur v Hyderabad at Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex Rahim Yar Khan

Match Drawn

Bahawalpur: 518-6 (dec) in 135 overs (Mohammad Ammar 178, Shahid Mirani 100*; Majid Asghar 3-103) and 127-0 in 39 overs (Ali Imran 65, Aun Shahzad 61)

Hyderabad: 496 all out in 171.2 overs (Mohammad Suleman 143, Daniyal Hussain Rajput 110; Mohammad Umair 4-84, Mohammad Junaid 3-194)