PCB Logo

SNGPL win President's Cup Grade-I 2023-24

  • Scorecard available here; Rights free photographs from the final can be downloaded from here

Lahore, 12 May 2024Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) beat Higher Education Commission (HEC) by eight wickets to win the final of the President’s Cup Grade-I 2023-24 at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday.

Haseebullah compiled his eighth List A century to drive SNGPL’s flawless chase of the 190-run target. The left-handed opening batter hit an undefeated 101 off 79 deliveries featuring 13 boundaries and three maximums as his side scaled the target inside 26.3 overs.

Abdullah Shafique (36, 46b, 3x4s, 1x6) and Omair Bin Yousuf (26, 19b, 3x4s, 1x6) were the only SNGPL batters to be dismissed while Saud Shakeel (20 not out, 15b, 2x4s, 1x6) accompanied Haseebullah till the end of the game.

Mohammad Junaid and Aqib Liaqat claimed a wicket each, giving away 39 and 44 runs respectively.

Earlier, HEC stumbled and failed to post an imposing total owing to regular blows. Six batters were sent back to the hut before HEC crossed the 100-run mark, following which they were reduced to 129-7 in 31.5 overs.

The lower-order showed some resistance with Muhammad Ghazi Ghori top-scoring with 30 off 49 balls while Shahid Aziz (25, 20b, 1x4, 2x6s), and Waseem Akram (20, 27b, 2x4s) also chipped in with small contributions.

Bilawal Bhatti was SNGPL’s most prolific bowler with figures of 3-37, and the trio of Mohammad Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani and Yasir Shah took two wickets each to skittle HEC for 189 in 45.4 overs.

Scores in brief:

HEC 189 all out, 45.4 overs (Muhammad Ghazi Ghori 30, Shahid Aziz 25, Mohammad Junaid 25; Bilawal Bhatti 3-37, Mohammad Ali 2-34, Shahnawaz Dahani 2-38, Yasir Shah 2-38)

SNGPL 194-2, 26.3 overs (Haseebullah 101 not out, Abdullah Shafique 36)

Player of the final – Haseebullah (SNGPL)

Player of the tournament – Abdullah Shafique (SNGPL), 344 runs and 11 catches

Best Batter of the tournament – Hussain Talat (Ghani Glass), 364 runs

Best bowler of the tournament – Shahnawaz Dahani (SNGPL), 19 wickets

Best Wicketkeeper of the tournament – Muhammad Ghazi Ghori (HEC), 10 dismissals