PCB Logo

Sohail Khan gets a five-fer, Ahmed Shehzad scores third successive fifty on fifth day of National T20 Cup

  • Peshawar, Lahore Whites, Lahore Blues, Karachi Whites, Rawalpindi, Abbottabad, Sialkot and FATA qualify for Super Eight
  • Super Eight round will commence on 1 December
  • Urdu round-up is attached here
  • Scorecards available here

Karachi, 28 November 2023: The last day of the group stage of the AH Group Presents Jazz Super 4G National T20 Cup 2023-24 witnessed eight teams in action across three venues in Karachi. In Group A, Larkana and Lahore Whites registered wins while in Group B, Lahore Blues and Karachi Whites emerged on top in their respective fixtures.

Super Eight Qualifications

Super Eight qualifications for Group C and Group D were finalised on Monday. Rawalpindi and Abbottabad, with six and four points respectively, were the top two teams in Group C. Sialkot and FATA, with four points each, progressed ahead after completion of the Group D fixtures. Lahore Blues and Karachi Whites from Group B secured berths for the Super Eight stage after beating Islamabad and Hyderabad respectively. Lahore Blues remained unbeaten, accumulating eight points, while Karachi Whites had six points. From Group A, Peshawar and Lahore Whites – with six points each – have qualified for the next stage of the National T20 Cup.

Group A

Larkana successfully defended a low total, beating Quetta by 15 runs at NBP Stadium. Batting first, Larkana were dismissed for 125. Imtiaz Legari (48 not out, 24b, 5x4s, 3x6s) was the highest scorer for the side as Faheem Rasheed and Salahuddin got two wickets each. In turn, Quetta could only manage 110 in 19.5 overs, with all of Larkana bowlers returning with at least a wicket each to restrict the opposition in their chase. 

Ahmed Shehzad (72 not out, 52b, 5x4s, 4x6s) took charge in Lahore Whites’ chase to help them cruise to 154-3 in 18 overs against Karachi Blues at National Bank Stadium, ensuring that the side qualifies for the Super Eight stage. Earlier, Karachi Blues had been restricted to 150-7 in 20 overs with Muneeb Wasif, Mohammad Amir Khan and Ahmed Daniyal picking up two wickets each.

Group B

At UBL Sports Complex, Lahore Blues narrowly defeated Islamabad to secure a spot in the Super Eight stage. Half-centuries by Qasim Akram (64, 51b, 6x4s, 1x6) and Imran Butt (52, 38b, 4x4s, 2x6s) took Lahore Blues to 154-7 in 20 overs. In response, Islamabad were dismissed for 149 in 19.4 overs, losing the game by five runs. Leg-spinner Usman Qadir got three wickets, while Nisar Ahmad and Kashif Bhatti returned with two each.  

Karachi Whites defeated Hyderabad by seven wickets at National Bank Stadium to claim a spot in the Super Eight stage of the National T20 Cup. Hyderabad were dismissed for 102 in 18.4 overs courtesy of a five-fer by right-arm pacer Sohail Khan and a three-wicket haul by left-arm fast bowler Ghulam Mudassar. In turn, Karachi Whites chased the target in just 12.1 overs, driven by a half-century by Ammad Alam (53, 33b, 5x4s, 4x6s).

Scores in brief:

Group A

Larkana beat Quetta by 15 runs at NBP Sports Complex

Larkana 125 all out, 20 overs (Imtiaz Legari 48 not out, Mohammad Umar 26; Salahuddin 3-2, Faheem Rasheed 3-11, Bohir Aman 2-32, Jalat Khan 1-24)

Quetta 110 all out, 19.5 overs (Jalat Khan 25, Sanaullah Khan 18; Zahid Mehmood 2-15, Mushtaq Ahmed 2-15, Faraz Aziz 2-16, Ali Haider 1-14, Mehroz Ali 1-19, Imtiaz Legari 1-26)

Lahore Whites beat Karachi Blues by seven wickets at National Bank Stadium

Karachi Blues 150-7, 20 overs (Mohammad Taha 41, Kashif Ali 39 not out, Bahadur Ali 25; Ahmed Daniyal 2-20, Mohammad Amir Khan 2-23, Muneeb Wasif 2-38, Kamran Afzal 1-25)

Lahore Whites 154-3, 18 overs (Ahmed Shehzad 72 not out, Tayyab Tahir 30; Bahadur Ali 1-17, Mohammad Asghar 1-19, Saqib Khan 1-38)

Group B

Lahore Blues beat Islamabad by five runs at UBL Sports Complex

Lahore Blues 154-7, 20 overs (Qasim Akram 64, Imran Butt 52; Umair Afridi 3-30, Mohammad Hammad 1-13, Farmanullah Khan 1-27, Ali Imran 1-31)

Islamabad 149 all out, 19.4 overs (Sarmad Bhatti 45, Ali Imran 26, Hammad Siddique 22; Usman Qadir 3-28, Nisar Ahmad 2-28, Kashif Bhatti 2-29, Hussain Talat 1-19, Umaid Asif 1-25)

Karachi Whites beat Hyderabad by seven wickets at National Bank Stadium

Hyderabad 102 all out, 18.4 overs (Tayyab Ali Shah 32, Daniyal Hussain Rajput 30; Sohail Khan 5-10, Ghulam Mudassar 3-6, Arif Yaqoob 1-23)

Karachi Whites 103-3, 12.1 overs (Ammad Alam 53 not out, Khurram Manzoor 19; Asad Malik 1-22, Asim Jutt 1-23)