PCB Logo

T20 match: West Indies win by seven runs

Pakistan team celebrate the wicket of Andre Fletcher during their T20 match in St. Lucia today

GROS ISLET, SAINT LUCIA: West Indies won the first and only T20 International match with Pakistan by seven runs at St. Lucia.

Pakistan were set a target of 151 runs from the 20 overs. Earlier, West Indies made 150 runs for the loss of seven from their allocation of 20 overs, after they chose to bat in their Twenty20 International against Pakistan on Thursday at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.

West Indies had elected to bat on the flat pitch after winning the toss. Pakistan need to make 151 runs in the allocated 20 overs to win the match.

Both the teams have given chances to new players at the Beausejour Cricket Ground. Younis Khan, Abdul Razaaq, Kamran Akmal and Umar Gul are not part of the Pakistan squad while Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Suleman Benn are also out of the West Indian team.

West Indies have lined up as: Darren Sammy (captain), Andre Fletcher, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Danza Hyatt, Christopher Barnwell, Andre Russell, Ashley Nurse, Devendra Bishoo, Ravi Rampaul

Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Salman (wicketkeeper), Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Ahmed Shahzad

Umpires: Norman Malcolm, Peter Nero

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

TV umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

Reserve umpire: Joel Wilson