PCB Logo

Zimbabwe beat Pakistan by 19 runs in second T20I

Harare, 23 April 2021: Zimbabwe beat Pakistan by 19 runs to level the three-match T20I series 1-1 at the Harare Sports Club in Harare on Friday. The series decider will be played at the same venue on Sunday.

Chasing 119 to win, Pakistan were bowled out for 99 on the penultimate ball. Babar Azam top-scored with a 45-ball 41, hitting five boundaries. Danish Aziz was other notable run-getter scoring 22 off 24 balls, striking one four.

For Zimbabwe, Luke Jongwe took four wickets for 18 in 3.5 overs. Ryan Burl grabbed two wickets for 21.

Earlier, after being put into bat, Brenden Taylor-led Zimbabwe scored 118 for nine. Opening batsman Tinashe Kamunhukamwe scored 34 off 40 balls, which included four fours.

For Pakistan, left-arm spinner Danish and fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain took two wickets apiece.

Scores in brief

Zimbabwe 118-9, 20 overs (Tinashe Kamunhukamwe 34; Mohammad Hasnain 2-19, Danish Aziz 2-29)

Pakistan 99 all out, 19.5 over (Babar Azam 41, Danish Aziz 22; Luke Jongwe 4-18, Ryan Burl 2-21)

Result Zimbabwe won by 19 runs