PCB Logo

Fahad Jamil's century puts Sialkot in charge on day one of the third round of Hanif Mohammad Trophy

Lahore, 22 September 2023: The third-round matches of the Hanif Mohammad Trophy commenced today where the match between Larkana and AJK at the Mirpur Cricket Stadium couldn’t start due to rain.

Sialkot v Quetta (Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium)

Sialkot won the toss and elected to bat first. Although opener Aamir Sohail lost his wicket without scoring a run, a 98-run-stand between Fahad Jamil and Salman Khan allowed the side to get a steady start.

Salman lost his wicket after getting a half-century. Fahad scored 108 runs before he fell victim to Jalat Khan.

A crucial knock by Mohsin Riaz helped Sialkot keep their momentum even after losing Fahad. Mohsin was complemented on the crease by veteran Haris Sohail.

Sialkot ended the day at 276, at the loss of just three wickets.

Karachi Blues v DM Jamali (Rahim Yar Khan Cricket Stadium)

DM Jamali won the toss and elected to bowl first. Karachi Blues got off to a shaky start. A 64-run-stand between Mohammad Taha Mahmood and Akbur ur Rehman steadied the innings, until Mohammad Shahid broke the partnership.

Saifullah Bangash and Ashiq Ali, who had a partnership of 100 runs, further helped Karachi’s scorecard.

Karachi’s middle order batters rose to the occasion and ensured that the deficit of the shaky start was overcome by end of day.

At stumps, they were 290 at the loss of seven wickets.

Bahawalpur v Abbottabad (Multan Cricket Stadium)

Bahawalpur won the toss and chose to bat. The side could not find stability in the innings, losing wickets periodically.

A 39-run-stand between Mohammad Umair and Moinud Din followed by a 45-run-stand between Husnain Majid and Faizan Zafar provided some respite to the Bahawalpur side. A five-wicket-haul by Shahhab kept the side from gaining any momentum during the innings.

They were eventually bowled out for 218 runs.

Abbottabad found themselves in a spot of bother at the start of their batting innings after Shayan Khalil removed their top three early on, each of whom departed before crossing 15. Batter Afaq Ahmed steadied himself on the crease to ensure that the side remains comfortable in the game.

At stumps, Abbottabad had lost three wickets and scored 76 runs, trailing by 142 runs.

Larkana v AJK (Mirpur Cricket Stadium)

Match delayed by rain.

Scores in brief

Sialkot v Quetta (Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium)

Sialkot: 276-3 in 100 overs (Fahad Jamil 104, Mohsin Riaz 84*; Jalat Khan 2-75)

Karachi Blues v DM Jamali (Rahim Yar Khan Cricket Stadium)

Karachi Blues: 290-7 in 90 overs (Saifullah Bangash 73, Ashiq Ali 53*; Salim Mal 2-58, Sajjad Ahmed 2-85)

Bahawalpur v Abbottabad (Multan Cricket Stadium)  

Bahawalpur: 218 all out in 67.1 overs (Mohammad Umair 36, Faizan Zafar 31; Shahhab 5-63)

Abbottabad: 72-3 in 20 overs (Afaq Ahmed 27*; Shayan Khalil 3-23)

Larkana v AJK (Mirpur Cricket Stadium)

Match delayed by rain