PCB Logo

Abbottabad's Anees Azeem Khan makes 99 as round two of Super-Four stage of Hanif Mohammad Trophy commences

Lahore, 16 October 2023: The second round of the Super-Four stage of Hanif Mohammad Trophy 2023-24 commenced today with Quetta taking on Abbottabad at Multan Cricket Stadium and Islamabad facing Hyderabad at the Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex in Rahim Yar Khan. Abbottabad posted 243 in 75.3 overs before getting dismissed. In turn, Quetta scored 26 runs in 10 overs, at the loss of one wicket. In the 99 overs they batted, Islamabad scored 268 runs while losing seven wickets in the process.

Quetta v Abbottabad at Multan Cricket Stadium:

Quetta won the toss and elected to bowl first at the Multan Cricket Stadium on the first day of play of the second round of Super-Four stage of the Hanif Mohammad Trophy. Abbottabad scored 243 in 75.3 overs, largely on the back of Anees Azam Khan (99, 192b, 11x4s, 1x6) who missed his century just by a run. He was supported by Ahmed Khan (42, 70b, 7x4). Left-arm pacer Jalat Khan bagged four wickets in the innings while Gohar Faiz returned with three wickets.

In response, Quetta scored 26 runs in 10 overs and lost one wicket courtesy of Fayyaz Khan.

Islamabad v Hyderabad at Sheikh Khalifa Sports Complex, Rahim Yar Khan:

Islamabad decided to bat first after winning the toss against Hyderabad at the Sheikh Khalifa Complex in Rahim Yar Khan. Islamabad scored 268 runs in the 99 overs they faced in the day, while losing seven wickets.

Mohammad Hammad (71, 163b, 9x4s, 1x6), Farmanullah Khan (67 not out, 230b, 7x4s), Hassan Nawaz (43, 55b, 2x4s, 5x6s) and Rohail Nazir (40, 58b, 4x4s, 2x6s) contributed with the bat. Jawad Ali returned with four wickets and Majid Asghar bagged two wickets in the day.

Scores in brief:

Quetta v Abbottabad

Abbottabad 243 all out in 75.3 overs (Anees Azeem Khan 99, Ahmed Khan 42; Jalat Khan 4-33, Gohar Faiz 3-66)

Quetta 26-1 in 10 overs (Fayyaz Khan 1-7)

Islamabad v Hyderabad

Islamabad 268-7 in 99 overs (Mohammad Hammad 71, Farmanullah Khan 67 not out, Hassan Nawaz 43, Rohail Nazir 40; Jawad Ali 4-86, Majid Asghar 2-62)